Drawbridge Defense

Discussion of official LEGO Castle Theme sets and products
DerBum
Laborer

Drawbridge Defense

Post by DerBum »

I did a search and didnt see any discussions of this set which I found relevent to the comments I am about to make, so I hope I am posting this correctly.

I was looking for something "new-ish" so I could save my classic sets and still have a nice set for when my daughter wants to play Lego. Initially, I was going to buy the Chariot, but I decided to put that off for another day. So, last night I picked up the Drawbridge Defense and I must say that I am fairly impressed.

The build is straight forward and the tower is an impressive structure. As an engineering student, I really appreciate the mechanism for raising the drawbridge (which is a very nice gearbox with a pawl to prevent the drawbridge from lowering until you want it to). It would be nice to see a mechanism and gate house like this one in a new full size castle. There is some form of easy access for bad guys right below the bridge, which might get a gate or something on mine. There is one other thing, this tower seems very stand alone... there isnt much way for people to get out of the other side of the tower once they enter via the drawbridge. It would have been nice if a set of stairs or a ramp exist on the other side. Taken as only a tower though, it is very nice.

The figures are ok, I like the Golden Knight, the soldier seems like he needs a shield. The jester and queen do not really belong in a set like this, but it does provide and easier way to get those figures (in the end they are very nice figures). My daughter loves the jester, she isnt really big on the skellies.

Again, I was impressed overall. Construction is very solid (with the exception of the opening below the bridge). The Golden Knight is very nice (his torso would look nice on a gray background). I give the set a solid A.
Blaze Ryder
Peasant

Re: Drawbridge Defense

Post by Blaze Ryder »