How to photograph lego?

Discussion of photography, editing and publishing techniques
Romas
Freeman

How to photograph lego?

Post by Romas »

Many MOC's can look amazing or like crap depending on the way the are photographed. Lego is made of a particulary reflective plastic, and sometimes it makes it hard to photograph properly.
Some members can photograph their MOC's beautifully, where you can see all the details and depth, while others lose the intricacies of their work due to badly taken photos.
I'm a really poor photographer, and I was wondering if some of you guys could enlighten me (and possibly other members as well) on how to photograph Lego in order to make them look their best.

Thank you
"Truth suffers from too much analysis"
Peppermint Pig
candied swine

Post by Peppermint Pig »

Good topic, which could perhaps use a greater tutorial to answer...

First off, garbage in, garbage out: If you use a mediocre camera, it will bring about mediocre results.

About a year ago I received my first digital camera: Olympus C-765, with a 4.0 megapixel resolution. Try to get a camera that can do 3 megapixel or better. Learn the functions on your camera, and test often.

I would discourage people from using analog cameras for the most part, as people often need to take many photos to find the best few shots, and the time involved makes upkeep of such a camera less convenient.

Since you're posting on this forum, that would suggest you have a computer, or at least access to one, so again, digital camera is recommended.

Photoshop and other graphic editing tools are very useful, but it requires skill and practice. I rely on an old copy of photoshop to clean up nearly every image I take.

I've never taken a proper photography course, but I would suggest these few tips: