Classic-Castle.com


The source for all your LEGO Castle needs!

[LDD][Tip] accuracy on X,Y,Z axis

Discussion of photography, editing and publishing techniques

[LDD][Tip] accuracy on X,Y,Z axis

Postby nsun » Mon Nov 07, 2011 4:54 pm

Lego Digital Designer is easy to use, with a system that making auto-loc position on studs.
But sometimes, accuracy is good for set construction. Also, there are a few tips that LDD can't do...

Have you ever try to build horses from Yellow Castel (375) on LDD ?
Image

You know what I mean... Sometimes, it's so complicated to make some "irregular" combinaisons of parts.

In some 3D CAD softwares, you have a tool to translate pieces on X,Y,Z axis.
Image
Symbolized by RGB arrows. It's usefull, but you dont have it in LDD.

But in LDD you have something special : The power of Lego Bricks ! :eyebrows:
If you dont have it, DIY.

For this tip, you need two parts :
Image
1) bar (63965) or similar
2) Brick, Modified 1x1 with Studs on 4 Sides : (4733)

This two parts became your tool for control X,Y,Z position. You just have to put the bar in the brick, and using the bar as a drag-and-drop control, the brick is a guide for each axis.
Afterwhat you select the part (that you want to move) with the bar, and you just drag the bar. The part will follow the movement and you can adjust position with accurate.

Here a sample step-by-step :
http://www.brickshelf.com/gallery/nsun/LDD-tips/step_by_step.jpg

I hope this tip will help you for digital creations.
Forgive me if sometimes I write in English as a robot...
powered by http://translate.google.fr/#fr|en|
User avatar
nsun
Serf
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 7:16 am

Re: [LDD][Tip] accuracy on X,Y,Z axis

Postby theboywarrior » Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:29 pm

Wow, that's nice....
Some folk we never forget
Some kind we never forgive
Haven’t seen the back of us yet
We’ll fight as long as we live

Image
User avatar
theboywarrior
Steward
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Trenzalore. Help.

Re: [LDD][Tip] accuracy on X,Y,Z axis

Postby AK_Brickster » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:13 am

Neat! I don't use LDD much (my computer is too slow), but I can see how this would be a really useful trick. Thanks for sharing, and welcome to Classic-Castle!

Keep up the good work! :mrgreen:
Image Image
Plastics make it possible! (BrickLink) - - - My Flickr Stream
Courage, Honor, Loyalty! For Garheim!
User avatar
AK_Brickster
Visconte des Paysans de Gong
 
Posts: 3220
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:02 pm
Location: Mushing through the Great Driftplains of Garheim

Re: [LDD][Tip] accuracy on X,Y,Z axis

Postby Eklund » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:16 am

Wow, that is really neat, thanks for the tip!
You would rather be building right now.
ImageImageImage
My Flickr
User avatar
Eklund
Man-At-Arms
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 2:00 pm
Location: USA-Minnesota


Return to Publishing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron