"When" is LEGO castle?

Discussion of personal LEGO Castle creations
Ye Olde Republic
Marquis of Brique

"When" is LEGO castle?

Post by Ye Olde Republic »

What do you think our timeframe is here? 1200, 1300, 1400...? I'm no expert on history, but when I saw Timeline, they claimed it to be in the mid-1400's and had gunpowder/cannons. I'm just looking for a bit of opinion and advice so I can sort of 'standardize' my stuff and there wouldn't be a lot of anachonism.

If I remember correctly, the crusades were over in the early 1200's?
Trevor

Trust me, I think I'm funnier than you do.
Why do I have to add the word "minifig" to my spell checker every time I use it?!

[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/old_republic/]flickr[/url]
[url=http://angrylegonerd.blogspot.com/]My blog[/url]
TwoTonic Knight
TwoTonic of Many Colors

Re: "When" is LEGO castle?

Post by TwoTonic Knight »

old_republic wrote:What do you think our timeframe is here? 1200, 1300, 1400...? I'm no expert on history, but when I saw Timeline, they claimed it to be in the mid-1400's and had gunpowder/cannons. I'm just looking for a bit of opinion and advice so I can sort of 'standardize' my stuff and there wouldn't be a lot of anachonism.

If I remember correctly, the crusades were over in the early 1200's?
The story was set during the 100 years war. Alas, I forget what actual year the book/movie quoted - I seem to recall thinking the armor shown in the movie was too late for the actual period. Searching around on the net - 1357 (mid-14th century, not 1400's). And the armor depicted is more appropriate to Agincourt (1415) than Potiers (1356). The Crusades were petering out somewhere around the early through mid 1200's. Anyway, Timeline was a poor book (flat-out badly written), but a somewhat more enjoyable movie.